ENERGY 2020

Forward

The Tenth International Conference on Smart Grids, Green Communications and IT Energyaware Technologies (ENERGY 2020) continued a series of events considering Green approaches for Smart Grids and IT-aware technologies. It addressed fundamentals, technologies, hardware and software support, applications and challenges.

There is a perceived need for a fundamental transformation in IP communications, energyaware technologies and the way all energy sources are integrated. This is accelerated by the complexity of smart devices, the need for special interfaces for an easy and remote access, and the new achievements in energy production. Smart Grid technologies promote ways to enhance efficiency and reliability of the electric grid, while addressing increasing demand and incorporating more renewable and distributed electricity generation. The adoption of data centers, penetration of new energy resources, large dissemination of smart sensing and control devices, including smart home, and new vehicular energy approaches demand a new position for distributed communications, energy storage, and integration of various sources of energy.

We take here the opportunity to warmly thank all the members of the ENERGY 2020 technical program committee, as well as all the reviewers. The creation of such a high quality conference program would not have been possible without their involvement. We also kindly thank all the authors who dedicated much of their time and effort to contribute to ENERGY 2020. We truly believe that, thanks to all these efforts, the final conference program consisted of top quality contributions. We also thank the members of the ENERGY 2020 organizing committee for their help in handling the logistics of this event.

ENERGY 2020 Chairs

ENERGY 2020 Steering Committee

Eric MSP Veith, OFFIS e.V. – Oldenburg, Germany Michael Negnevitsky, University of Tasmania, Australia Dragan Obradovic, Siemens - Corporate Technology, Munich, Germany Vivian Sultan, California State University Los Angeles, USA Mark Apperley, University of Waikato, New Zealand Steffen Fries, Siemens, Germany

ENERGY 2020 Publicity Chair

Joseyda Jaqueline More, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain Marta Botella-Campos, Universitat Politecnica de Valencia, Spain

ENERGY 2020 Industry/Research Advisory Committee

Hongbo Sun, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, USA Daisuke Mashima, Advanced Digital Sciences Center, Singapore Sambaran Bandyopadhyay, IBM Research, India

Chresten Træholt, Center for Electric Power and Energy - CEE | Technical University of Denmark - DTU, Denmark

Vincenzo Gulisano, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Marco Lützenberger, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany

Evangelos Pournaras, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Chun-Hsi Huang, University of Connecticut, USA

Magnus Almgren, Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden